Sony launches α6400 mirrorless camera in India starting at Rs 75,990

Sony launches α6400 mirrorless camera in India starting at Rs 75,990

Rounak Jain

Japanese tech giant Sony has announced the next generation α6400, a new addition to the company's e-mount mirrorless camera lineup in India. It was announced last month in North America and has made its way to India now.

One of the main highlights of the Sony α6400 is that it comes with a touchscreen that flips 180 degrees, allowing you to get an adjustable preview of how you are looking while you are making a video.

Sony has claimed that the α6400 is the perfect amalgamation of the most advanced technologies from the company's full-frame lineup in a compact, lightweight APS-C camera. The company has also claimed that the device features world's fastest autofocus acquisition of 0.02 seconds.

The Sony α6400 features a 24.2MP APS-C Exmor CMOS image sensor with an Bionz X image processor. The camera is capable of 4K recording at 24 or 30 FPS. It supports continuous shooting up to 11 FPS with the mechanical shutter or 8 FPS in its silent shooting mode. Like its last two generations, the α6400 sports a hot shoe mount and a microphone jack.

The Sony α6400 is equipped with the same hybrid autofocus system that the company uses in its premium Alpha cameras and this has allowed the company to equip the device with the world's fastest autofocus acquisition.

It also features quick subject acquisition aided by 425 autofocus points, making it ideal for quick-reaction scenarios like sports photography. Additionally, the camera is equipped with the Eye AF system which is capable of using computer vision to identify people and focus on their eyes. Sony has revealed that the Eye AF feature is now fast enough to operate in real time and will be able to support animal eyes after a software update.

Pricing and availability

The Sony α6400 has been priced at ₹75,990 for the body, ₹85,990 for the SELP1650 lens model and ₹1,09,990 for the SEL18135 lens option. It will be available from February 8, 2019.